Fasting Day 7…The mystery of the empty stomach

My good friend and awesome mega-church pastor/ discipleship guru from Manila Philippines, Joey Bonifacio, wrote a great little book titled “The mystery of the empty stomach” (Check out Joeys great blogs through my links on the right) (Joey keeps encouraging me to write a book, so blogging is an attempt to make a start – I do have a rough manuscript outline stored somewhere on this computer, so watch this space…)

There is a “mystery” to the empty prayinghands by His People Church Cape Townstomach. Fasting is a mystery. How does it work? What really happens? I would not call myself an expert on fasting in any way, but I am sure that fasting is more a spiritual art than a spiritual science. It doesn’t work according to a formula.

There is certainly enough Biblical and testimonial evidence to show that something powerful happens when we fast.  I believe that fasting releases things, but not even necessarily the things we focus on.   Its more about us hearing Him, than Him hearing us. Its more about focussing on Him, than getting Him to focus on us. Its more about the mystery of “seeking first the Kingdom of God, and being right with Him”, and seeing “all these things added to us.”

There was a season in my early Christian life (this was before being in “full-time” ministry ?!) where I fasted one day every single week. It was a discipline to fulfil my desire for God as above. I have also at times fasted for specific things. Once I did a quasi-spiritual “grape-diet” for 21 days focusing on an illness I had. The only result I got is that to this day I can’t eat green grapes without some strange reaction in my jaw!   As a leadership we have also fasted for wisdom and direction, and God seems to have spoken and guided in significant ways.

It’s not about a formula to get Gods attention, but more about “drawing near in faith” and seeking His Kingdom through an empty stomach, a hungry heart, and a spirit overflowing with thanksgiving… Just know that God is up to something good!

One thought on “Fasting Day 7…The mystery of the empty stomach

Leave a comment